Hans Vogt Award 2020 goes to EMILY ATEF

    The Hans Vogt Award 2020 goes to the director and author Emily Atef.

    Hans Vogt Award 2020 goes to EMILY ATEF

    We are very pleased that we can award the HANS VOGT AWARD of the city of Rehau, with the support of our sponsors, at the 54th Hof International Film Festival 2020 again this year. The prize, endowed with 5000 euros, is awarded to filmmakers who, with innovation and care, have given their films special quality and value and who pay special attention to their film music.

    This year’s award goes to the director and screenwriter EMILY ATEF

    Emily Atef was born in West Berlin in 1973 as the daughter of French-Iranian parents. She moved with her family to Los Angeles when she was seven years old, before moving to France when she was 13. There she finished school with the Baccalauréat. She then worked as an actress at the London Theatre before moving to Berlin, where she completed her directing studies at the German Film and Television Academy in 2008. After directing various short films such as SUNDAYS (2003) and ASYL (2004), her first feature film MOLLY'S WAY (2005), for which she also wrote the screenplay, was awarded the German Cinema New Talent Award for Best Screenplay at the Munich Film Festival. After critically acclaimed directorial works such as THE STRANGER IN ME (2008) and WUNSCHKINDER (2016), her black-and-white drama 3 DAYS IN QUIBERON marked her international breakthrough.

    The 54th Hof International Film Festival is very pleased to welcome Emily Atef again in Hof: She was a guest for the first time already in 2011 with her internationally produced drama KILL ME (2012), which deals with death as a stirring road movie. After making her first comeback in Hof in 2018 with her film DO NOT WORRY! (2018), she returns again this year with her haunting and magnificently staged cat and mouse game JACKPOT (2020) starring Rosalie Thomass.

    The Hans Vogt Award commemorates the pioneering work of the engineer Hans Vogt, born in the Rehau district in 1890, who played a decisive role in the invention of the sound film and ushered in a new era in the history of cinema.